Why Are We Blogging?

September 11, 2008 at 4:28 am Leave a comment

Blogging seems to be one of the newest phenomena’s to hit the internet world. Even if one is not familiar with the business or networking reasons behind blogging, the general public has at least heard of blogs such as Perez Hilton’s gossip-blog. However, many people are unaware (as I was before taking this class) that blogging can include reasons such as networking for job opportunities (in one’s professional field), campaign ads or even support groups to obtain advice on a particular subject. Much like Facebook, a personal blog allows you to portray a certain image you wish to display to the public. This particular Blog is used for the PR class I am enrolled in at Clemson; however, maintaining a blog outside of class could be used as a personal marketing tool. If I am in the market of job-seeking, my blog could help me find potential job opportunities based on my interests, as well as allow companies to find and learn about me, thus serving as an outstanding networking tool. My blog could contain my personal resume included with detailed work experience related to my field of interest. For instance, if I was interested in pursuing a career in Public Relations, I could keep my blog updated with my reactions to recent PR happenings. These posts could serve as “work samples” that show potential employers my interest in the field, also exuberating my personality and creativity through my work.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What are of PR interests me? Sarah Who?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


