My PR Response

October 2, 2008 at 11:27 am Leave a comment

Is PR in its own little world? (Caroline Trotter)

I am the “webmaster” for Clemson’s brand new chapter of PRSSA which means I handle and maintain most of the information you find on the internet(which I find a little intimidating)   I do blog posts and update our twitter account but all of this got me thinking.  As individuals interested in PR we talk a lot about Twitter, however I don’t think anyone I know outside of the PR world uses it…if they even know what it is in the first place.  My question to you is …. Do PR practitioners live in their own little world convincing each other this is a great way for people to stay communicated when in actuality no one uses it?  How are we to know?

My Response To: Is PR in its own little world?

Unfortunately I do not have an answer to the question, “Do PR practitioners live in their own little world convincing each other this [Twitter] is a great way for people to stay communicated when in actuality no one uses it?  How are we to know?” I find merit in your question and often wonder the same thing about Twitter. You have more hands on experience with Twitter than I do; however, I have heard about it through PRSSA meetings and I have heard mention of Twitter by PR practitioners we have had speak at monthly meetings. Previous to being a member of PRSSA, I had never even heard of Twitter, nor do most people I talk to have any idea what it is today. I find your question very valid and also wonder if Twitter is solely used by PR practitioners to stay connected. My only offering is perhaps Twitter will one day be the new form of AOL Instant Messaging and it will reach a “tipping-point” overnight… I guess we will have to wait and see if that day ever comes.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

VOGUE India New Buzz on Clemon’s Campus

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


